Skill framework for the information age

Retaining the right staff and developing their potential are vital to their success, and the SFIA, Skills Framework for the Information Age, is fast becoming the most popular way of describing the professional skills needed by IT organisations and departments.

Skill framework for the information age

They will practise creating role profiles and learn how to use these to plan skills development. QA typically will 'train the trainer' to enable these short sessions to be run in-house.

This provides a valuable reference, to enable a tailored portfolio of learning solutions to be offered, which addresses relevant products, technologies and methods. SFIA provides an ideal framework to benchmark skills levels for job roles and job families.

Among other benefits, role-based skills profiles provide consistent and achievable targets for personal development and career progression. Learning targets include gaining formal accreditations, gaining software-specific skills and developing management and personal skills.

The methodical approach illustrated above ensures that investment in learning delivers measurable business benefits by raising capability. SFIA Skills Framework for the Information Age is a suite of skills descriptions, which provide benchmarked competencies for job-role profiles. SFIA is independent of vendors, software products, standards or methodologies, so the skills are reusable and portable across technologies and businesses.

Benefits of SFIA Standard reference for recruitment, deployment and development of staff Distinct and graduated skills enable clear definition and differentiation of roles When used to target learning, spend is clearly aligned to capability requirements For more information contact QA's SFIA Expert, Andy Thompson.

Not found what you are looking for?The Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA) is a global standard that defines Digital and other ICT related skills. A full description of the framework and access to the SFIA capability definitions is available on the SFIA Foundation website.

Information technology

NSDSIII FRAMEWORK, DRAFT (1) FOR CONSULTATION, 29/04/10 Page 5 1. Background and Legal Context This framework of the National Skill Development Strategy (NSDSIII) /12 –.


Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA) Welcome to BSMimpact – the SFIA experts! We are a global Skills Framework for the Information Age Accredited Partner and Training Provider with the largest network of SFIA Accredited Consultants.

SFIA identifies skills in the fields of information management, systems and services. Competencies are described at each of the levels that are relevant to a particular skill. The whole framework is organised into six categories, which reflect the diversity of skills.

Conscious Competence. Four stages of learning theory - unconscious incompetence to unconscious competence matrix - and other theories and models for learning and change Here is a summary of the explanation, definitions and usage of the 'conscious competence' learning theory, including the 'conscious competence matrix' model, its extension/development, and origins/history of the 'conscious.

Skill framework for the information age

In this report, containing what is Skill Framework for the Information Age (SFIA), how is SFIA works and how is SFIA been used recently. The career management system .

Education for the Information Age